Meet the IVA | IVA Columns | IVA Page Guide

Visitors

Counter               Revised August 19, 2015 rls

Independent Voters Alliance (USAIVA)

United States of America

 

IVA Opinion Column Archives
Current Politics from a Nonpartisan Independent Perspective

Over the past several years I have had chances to write articles about the nonpartisan independent political movement for national and state civic organizations. I did not bother until Fall 2003. I first started to write articles for a local political web site in Cincinnati, OH. The web site was Queen City Forum (QCF), www.queencityforum.com. After talking to one of the founders, Michael Altman, on the phone for a long time and his reading my pamphlet, Common Sense II, The Overdue Voter Revolution, Michael asked me to write a monthly column on the IVA party for the web site. I was happy to oblige. I was asked to write one or two columns per month within a few months after my first article was published online. I wrote two articles only in the month of July 2004, the last month before the breakup between the QCF founders.

 

IVA LeadershipThe first article was simply Meet the IVA, which forced me to write a good introduction to the IVA in a brief format suitable for a newsletter or magazine. On the original QCF web site the IVA was shown as one of four political parties in Cincinnati, Hamilton County, Ohio. The other three parties were indicated as being the Charter Party established in the 1920s, the Republican party established in the 1850s, and the Democratic Party established sometime in the early 1800s. The IVA was just a few years old and not even quite off the ground. But QCF gave the IVA equal billing. IVA Columns

My thanks were owed to Michael Altman, and to Steve Fritsch, the Publisher. They co-founded the QCF, but had an ideological falling out after a little over a year after founding the QCF. It ruined their friendship at last word. Steve is conservative and Michael is on the liberal side. Hey guys, 70% of the people are political moderates. The last time I looked the IVA articles were no longer on the two web sites that took the place of the original QCF. The new QCF, www.queencityforum.com, published by Michael Altman, no longer featured an article from the four political parties. The other web site, www.bluechipreview.com, the Blue Chip Review (BCR), was published by the more conservative Steve Fritsch. I miss the nonpartisan viewpoint that was the basis of the original QCF. Ideological polarity caused the breakup between friends, in a manner similar to the constant bipartisan fights in the U.S. Congress. The initial QCF intent was to open a free discussion of all political points of view in one place. In the end, bipartisan polarity scored a minor victory against tolerance and free speech in Cincinnati, OH.

 

The articles listed below are “current event” articles published when and where indicated. The IVA articles are no longer archived on the QCF web pages. The links shown as dates are the dates when the articles were originally published or written. QCF was published on the 1st and the 15th of each month. The articles listed below are shown from the newest to the oldest dates as published:

09-18-06

Bipartisans Win Another Round

Apology to the Voters of District One Ohio

No Choice for Congress This Year

(IVA_Opinion) (Top of Page)

08-26-06

Open Letter to all Voters

About Ohio Congressional District One and Your Vote

In the 85% Nonpartisan Moderate Middle

(IVA_Opinion)

08-09-06

The Sad State of American Politics

A Game Played by Back Room Elites

(IVA_Opinion)

10-09-05

A More Democratic Republic for US All

Can Nonpartisans Replace the Bipartisan

Dictatorship?

(IVA_Opinion)

09-24-05

Principled Nonpartisan Politics 

A Worthy Rhetorical Strategy

(IVA_Opinion)

07-15-04

String Along or Vote Your Interests?

Nonpartisan Independent Ballot Choices

(QCF) (IVA_Opinion)

07-01-04

Progressive Term Limits? In America?

A Nonpartisan Independent Perspective On Politics

(QCF) (IVA_Opinion)

06-01-04

Political Debate? In My America?

Nonpartisan Independent Perspectives are Blocked

(QCF) (IVA_Opinion)

05-01-04

A Tradition of Stolen Rhetoric

Using the Media to Win Election to Public Office

(QCF) (IVA_Opinion)

04-15-04

Frames of Reference, a Wrong War?

Only a Nonpartisan Independent Leader Makes Sense

(QCF) (IVA_Opinion)

03-15-04

The Seven Percent Nominee

Our Undemocratic Political Process

(QCF) (IVA_Opinion)

02-16-04

An Independent President Called

Howard

The Dean Difference, His Supporters

(QCF) (IVA_Opinion)

01-10-04

Constituent? Are You?

You Get Back Only What You Contribute

(QCF) (IVA_Opinion)

11-16-03

A Historic Trend for Cincinnati

New Council Members, not Incumbents

(QCF) (IVA_Opinion)

 

10-01-03

Meet the Independent Voters Alliance (IVA) 

Open Ballot Access and Equal Political Speech

(QCF) (BCR) ((QCF) (BCR) (IVA_Opinion) (Top of Page)

The articles were written on “current events” from a nonpartisan independent political perspective. They are unlike any articles you have heard, read, or seen in the bipartisan for-profit corporate media. The truth about our undemocratic two-party political system is usually hidden from view. A few lies of omission are exposed in the IVA articles.

These articles are just the opinions of one person. There are millions of people like you yearning for changes in our democratic republic. Spread the word of the nonpartisan independent ballot access movement. We still have "a republic, if you can keep it," Ben Franklin. I have many articles left to write or left unwritten over the last decade.  Your  participation is needed to keep a democratic republic.

Rich Stevenson

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ballot access petitions will be available on IVA web pages and other web pages for use by nonpartisan independent citizens. Freedom is participation in power.

Be an active petition circulator and Election Day participant.

Be a proactive Citizen in your voting precinct.

A Little Effort — A Lot of Liberty

Welcome to the nonpartisan independent ballot access movement. Read the national IVA web pages at cs2pr.us/hamco/usaiva. Participate.

Your Voice IVA e-Online Form

 

RICH STEVENSON, Interim Acting Chair, USAIVA, Email

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
(Your Voice) IVA e-ONLINE FORM | (End of Page)
Contact a Nearby IVA and Host a Meet up in Your Home or Dorm

IVA Leadership Page IVA Leader Page
------------------------------------------------------------------------

USAIVA Pages Guide:

(Nonpartisan Opinion Columns) THIS PAGE

Political Analysis from a Nonpartisan IVA Perspective

(IVA Priority) Certify Petition Circulators

(Your Voice) Manage IVA Web Pages

(Your Voice) Meet ups, Coffees, and Speakers

(Petitions/Web Pages) Nonpartisan Presidential Candidates on State Ballots

(Nonpartisan Candidate) Can You Stand for Public Office? (Qualify at 18 yrs.) (Gen X, Y Invited)

(Your Privilege) Active Citizenship

(Directory) State IVA Home Pages

(Directory) State IVA Central Committees

(Download, Print) USAIVA Documents

(A Civics100 Lesson) Political ID Card

(Links to Learning) Study Hall, Today's Politics

(Positive, Creative Blogs) Sounding Board (Improve the Politics We Live With)

(Referenda) USAIVA Ballot Initiative Ideas Page

(usaiva at cs2pr.us) USAIVA Email

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Model State IVA Web Pages
(
Ballot Access) Ohio IVA 
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Model Local IVA Web Pages (County, Community, precinct, etc.)
(
Ballot Access) Hamilton County OH 
------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Meet the IVA IVA Columns

IVA Page Guide Top of Page

Model National IVA Home Page

Model Local IVA Home Page | Model State IVA Home Page

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Web Page Manager, RICH STEVENSON, Email, Hamilton County OH IVA
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ballot access for the Nonpartisan 80% Voter Majority!
Independent and Minor Party Voters Welcome!
New Voters, Too!

------------------------------------------------------------------------
IVA Web pages created and developed by
RLS Design
Copyright 1999-2015 by Richard L. Stevenson
Permission to link on other web pages is given provided notice
 is given to the
Independent Voters Alliance (USAIVA) by Email.
Please use "IVA Link Notice" as the Email subject.
We seek links to nonpartisan political web pages.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Also created and developed by RLS Design
Common Sense II Political Reforms
Copyright 1997-2015 by Richard L. Stevenson
------------------------------------------------------------------------

IVA Leadership Page IVA Leader Page